All Content

International Politics – all content

Displaying 1 - 20 of 54

The Future of Peace and Security in Europe

pdf

It is vital to intensify the work on an architecture for peace across Europe. The purpose of this report is to provoke further discussions on how this can be done without losing sight of the causes of the current crisis.

Autonomy in Weapon Systems

The future international security landscape will be critically impacted by the military use of artificial intelligence (AI) and robotics. Meaningful human control over weapon systems and the use of force must be retained.

Synopsis Paper of eight G20 Country Perspectives

This synopsis paper provides a summary and analysis of papers produced by the Heinrich Boell Foundation offices in eight countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico and South Africa. The scope of this synopsis is limited to these countries and focuses primarily on the need for a transition to renewable energy in the context of economic growth and climate change.

Contracts for Sustainable Infrastructure

pdf

Infrastructure is essential to the achievement of the sustainable development goals (SDGs) and to the success of the Paris Agreement on Climate Change. Our partner IISD presents why governments must invest in sustainable infrastructure and how they can integrate sustainability into infrastructure contracts.

Immigrant Shepherds in Southern Europe

In many southern montane regions of the EU, the growing presence of immigrants has come to counterbalance the decline and ageing of the local rural populations and agricultural workforce. The paper examines problems as well as potentials of this development.

 

Migrant Crop Pickers in Italy and Spain

Crop-picking in both Italy and Spain, increasingly depends on migrant workers. The paper analyzes the most important aspects of recruitment strategies, living conditions and institutional regulations in both countries.

South Africa - Making the right energy choices

The South African government has unreservedly endorsed the SDGs, noting that the triple challenge of poverty, unemployment and inequality that they address is also the primary focus of the country. This e-paper will show how the SDGs are conceptually aligned to the South Africa’s National Development Plan.

Financing Loss and Damage: A Look at Governance and Implementation Options

pdf

In 2013 countries agreed to establish the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage (WIM), but almost no work has been done on how to fund loss and damage. This discussion paper, while not presenting the final word on a range of issues related to international loss and damage financing, has nevertheless outlined some concrete steps forward over the next two years.

Stopping Global Plastic Pollution

The massive use of plastics has created an enormous global problem with environmental, economic, social, and health repercussions. The only viable solution to the problem would therefore be to stop plastic waste from entering the oceans in the first place. The authors of this paper propose to launch negotiations on a plastics convention and begin to end this irresponsible disaster.

Security as a Commodity: Mega Events and Public Security in Brazil

pdf

The private security industrie is definitely among the sectors that most benefit from mega events. Within a dubious relationship the security industry does not only supply the Brazilian State with surveillance systems and weapons, it also influences the organization of federal police and military forces.

Pages

Alle Inhalte

Internationale Politik – Alle Beiträge

1 - 20 von 132

The Future of Peace and Security in Europe

pdf

Dieser Bericht fasst einen Dialogprozess zwischen Expert/innen aus Russland, der Ukraine, Polen und Deutschland zusammen. Das Ziel: die Arbeit an gesamteuropäischen Friedens- und Sicherheitsordnung zu intensivieren, ohne die Ursachen der derzeitigen Krise in der Ostukraine zu ignorieren.

Autonomy in Weapon Systems

Sogenannte „Künstliche Intelligenz“ (KI) und „Autonome Waffensysteme“ (AWS) werden die Zukunft der internationalen Sicherheit in höchstem Maße beeinflussen. In diesem Bericht empfehlen wir klare Regeln für die militärische Nutzung Künstlicher Intelligenz sowie eine globale Ächtung Autonomer Waffensysteme.

Iran-Report 04/2018

pdf

Diese Ausgabe diskutiert die Spannungen innerhalb der Führungsriege der Islamischen Republik. Weitere Themen: die Debatte um den Kopftuchzwang, die Defizite im Bankensystem sowie der Besuch des FIFA-Präsidenten Gianni Infantino. Ausführlich bespricht der Report die Krise zwischen Iran und den Vereinigten Staaten, Saudi-Arabien sowie Israel.

Iran-Report 03/2018

pdf

Diese Ausgabe diskutiert die politischen Folgen der Proteste um die Jahreswende. Die konkurrierenden Kräfte der Islamischen Republik sind in Aufruhr. Weitere Themen sind unter anderem die Proteste gegen den Kopftuchzwang, der mysteriöse Tod eines bekannten Umweltschützers im Gefängnis sowie die beunruhigende Zuspitzung der regionalen Konflikte.

Iran-Report 02/2018

pdf

Diese Ausgabe widmet sich ausführlich den Folgen und Reaktionen auf die jüngsten Proteste im Iran. Weitere Themen sind die Expansionspläne der iranischen Asad-Universität, die Zukunft des Atomdeals sowie die massiven Gesundheitsschäden durch Umweltverschmutzung und Wassermangel.

Iran-Report 01/2018

pdf

Seit Ende Dezember protestieren tausende Iranerinnen und Iraner auf den Straßen des Landes. Diese Ausgabe analysiert schwerpunktmäßig die Hintergründe und mögliche Auswirkungen der Protestwelle. Weitere Themen sind die neusten Entwicklungen im Streit um das Atomabkommen und die wirtschaftliche Prognose des IWF für Iran.

Iran-Report 12/2017

pdf

In dieser Ausgabe können Sie unter anderem erfahren, dass Saudi-Arabien einen überraschenden Bündnispartner gegen Iran gefunden zu haben scheint. Ausführlich, und aus verschiedenen Perspektiven, werden die neusten Entwicklungen in dem sich zuspitzenden Konflikt zwischen den USA und Iran beleuchtet.

China: Klima- und Energiepolitik

China hat sich während seiner G20-Präsidentschaft im Jahr 2016 für eine Integration der UN Klima- und Nachhaltigkeitsziele in das G20-Programm stark gemacht. Inwiefern lassen sich diese Bemühungen nun auch in der nationalen chinesischen Politik wiederfinden?

Australien - Kann nachhaltige Entwicklung gelingen?

Die Abhängigkeit von den Einnahmen aus der Rohstoffwirtschaft könnte letztlich sehr teuer werden – nicht nur für Australien. Dieses E-Paper zeigt auf welche Anstrengungen Australien unternimmt, um seiner Vorreiterrolle als Mitglied der G20 gerecht zu werden.

Politik auf schwankendem Boden

Ralf Fücks war zwanzig Jahre Vorstand der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung. In dieser Eigenschaft veröffentlichte er eine große Zahl von Artikeln in Magazinen, Tages- und Wochenzeitungen. Dieses Buch präsentiert das breite Spektrum an Themen, mit denen er sich publizistisch in die politischen und öffentlichen Debatten eingemischt hat.

Immigrant Shepherds in Southern Europe

In vielen südlichen Bergregionen der EU hat die wachsende Präsenz von Arbeitsmigranten die Abwanderung und Überalterung der lokalen Bevölkerung und der landwirtschaftlichen Arbeiterschaft ausgeglichen. Die Studie zeigt Probleme wie Potentiale dabei auf.

 

Migrant Crop Pickers in Italy and Spain

Der Agrarsektor in Italien und Spanien ist heute weitgehend von Migranten abhängig. Im vorliegenden Beitrag werden die wichtigsten Aspekte der Anwerbungs- und Lebensbedingungen sowie die institutionellen Regelungen in beiden Ländern verglichen.

Seiten