The Anne Klein Women’s Award

Anne Klein Women’s Award 2017

Nomarussia Bonase

By honouring Nomarussia Bonase with this award, the jury of the Anne Klein Women’s Award 2017 acclaims the work and commitment of a South African activist who tirelessly advocates for women’s rights, gender democracy, reparation and reconciliation. Nomarussia Bonase is a role model to many.

Nomarussia Bonase

Nomarussia Bonase was born in 1966 in Apartheid South Africa. Early on, her struggle for equal rights begins. Later she joins the Khulumani Support Group founded by women. A portrait of the winner of the Anne-Klein-Women’s-Award 2017.

Video recording of the award ceremony 2017

Anne Klein Women’s Award 2013

Lepa Mlađenović, feminist acticist and intellectual from Serbia is the winner of our Anne Klein Women’s Award 2013. The award ceremony will take place in Berlin on March 1st. Here you find more information about the prize winner and about our work for women's rights and LGTBI-rights in the Balkans.

About Anne Klein

As lawyer and politician, Anne Klein has dedicated her life to the concerns and demands of the feminist and woman’s movement. She died in April 2011 of cancer.

Nomination and Criteria

Candidates nominated for the Heinrich Böll Foundation’s Anne Klein Women’s Award should be politically active members of civil society – women who, as role models, encourage women and girls to act in gender-democratic ways.


Barbara Unmüßig
Renate Künast, MdB
Prof. Dr. Michaele Schreyer
Jutta Wagner
Thomas Herrendorf


Ulrike Cichon
(030) 285 34-112

Anne Klein Women’s Award

In honour of Anne Klein the Heinrich Böll Foundation has created the Anne Klein Women’s Award. Anne Klein, a dedicated lawyer and openly lesbian politician, has been a pioneer of feminist causes. She served as the first feminist Women’s Senator in Berlin’s state government. The prize is annually awarded to women who have shown exemplary commitment for making gender democracy a reality.

Subscribe to RSSSubscribe to RSS