Imme Scholz
President of Heinrich Böll Stiftung e.V.
Imme Scholz, Vorstand der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung

Since April 2022, Dr. Imme Scholz serves as Co-President of the Berlin-based Heinrich Böll Foundation. Prior to that she had been Deputy Director of the German Development Institute (Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik, DIE) since 2009. She is an Honorary professor for Global Sustainability and its Normative Fundamentals at the Center for Ethics and Responsibility (ZEV) at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences in St. Augustin.

Imme Scholz is Deputy Chair of the Council for Sustainable Development (RNE), where she has been active since 2013. In addition, she is the Co-Chair of the Independent Group of Scientists, an organisation that has been commissioned by the United Nations to prepare the second Global Sustainable Development Report. She is also a member of the "Bioökonomierrat" (Council on Ecological Economics) and of the supervisory board of Diakonie, the social welfare organisation of Germany’s Protestant churches (since 2012) and the German Committee on Sustainability Research. Between 2003 and 2022 she served on the Böll Foundation‛s North-South expert advisory board.

Imme Scholz joined the German Development Institute in 1992 as a research assistant, and between 2002 and 2009 she was in charge of its newly created division for "Environmental Policy and the Management of Natural Resources", where she established a programme on "climate change adaptation in developing countries". Her research focus has been on numerous aspects of climate change, the natural environment and development.

In the 1980s she studied sociology at Berlin‛s Free University, earning her PhD in 1999 with a thesis titled Environmental standards for the export of tropical timber - the adaptability of timber-exporting companies in Eastern Amazonia, Brazil.

Contact

Assistant to the Executive Board Dr. Imme Scholz
Kathrin Klaua
E klaua@boell.de
T + 49(0) 30 / 285 34 0
F + 49(0) 30 / 285 34 192

Imme Scholz
Vorstand Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung e.V.
Imme Scholz, Vorstand der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung

Dr. Imme Scholz ist seit April 2022 Vorstand der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung e.V. in Berlin. Davor war sie von 2009 bis 2022 stellvertretende Direktorin des Deutschen Instituts für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE). Sie ist Honorarprofessorin für Globale Nachhaltigkeit und ihre normativen Grundlagen am Zentrum für Ethik und Verantwortung der Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg in St. Augustin.

Imme Scholz ist stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Rates für nachhaltige Entwicklung (RNE), dem sie seit 2013 angehört. Außerdem ist sie Ko-Vorsitzende der Independent Group of Scientists, die von den Vereinten Nationen beauftragt ist, bis 2023 den zweiten Global Sustainable Development Report vorzulegen. Des Weiteren gehört sie dem Bioökonomierat an sowie dem Aufsichtsrat des Evangelischen Werkes für Diakonie und Entwicklung (seit 2012) und dem Deutschen Komitee für Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Von 2003 bis 2022 begleitete sie die Arbeit der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung als Mitglied des Fachbeirates Nord-Süd.

Seit 1992 gehörte sie dem DIE als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an, zwischen 2002 und 2009 leitete sie die neu gegründete Abteilung „Umweltpolitik und Management natürlicher Ressourcen“. Dort baute sie den Schwerpunkt „Anpassung an den Klimawandel in Entwicklungsländern“ auf. Ihre Forschungsthemen umfassen verschiedene Fragestellungen aus den Bereichen Klimawandel, Umwelt und Entwicklung.

In den 1980er Jahren studierte sie Soziologie an der Freien Universität Berlin, wo sie 1999 mit dem Thema „Ökologische Anforderungen an Tropenholzexporte – Anpassungsfähigkeit von holzexportierenden Unternehmen in Ostamazonien, Brasilien“ auch promoviert hat.

Kontakt

Assistentin des Vorstandes Dr. Imme Scholz
Kathrin Klaua
klaua@boell.de
T + 49(0) 30 / 285 34 0
F + 49(0) 30 / 285 34 192