Dr. Livia Cotta

Dr. Livia Cotta

CEO
All rights reserved.

Livia Cotta is CEO of the Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung since 2013.

Biography: 

Dr. Livia Cotta was born in Berlin in 1970 and studied medicine at the Free University of Berlin from 1989 through 1996. She received her doctorate from Humboldt University of Berlin and worked as a physician at the Charité Medical Clinic until she received her license to practice medicine (“Approbation”) in 1998. Alongside other work she received her Master in Business Administration in 2008 from the Technical University in Munich.

From 1998 through 2007 Livia Cotta undertook various editing and event management positions at the Georg Thieme Verlag – a Stuttgart-based publishing house that specializes in medical literature. Among other projects while working there she established a professional journal for psychotherapists, assembled Internet presentations and conferences and oversaw the re-launch of a professional journal for anesthesiologists. She then worked for two years as the head of marketing and communications at Hocoma, a Swiss medical technology company located near Zurich.

She developed proficiency in managing an internationally active non-profit organization while working with the German Bone Marrow Donor Database (DKMS), where she worked as medical director beginning in 2009 and was also responsible for the human resources, administration and IT departments.

As a journalist she has published on themes such as “medicine in crisis areas” and she received the 2003 “Karl Theodor Vogel Preis für Fachpublizistik” for her publication “Neurologische Reha – Training für die grauen Zellen”. Under her direction, the journal physiopraxis was named “Professional Journal of the Year” in 2005.

Dr. Livia Cotta came to the Heinrich Böll Stiftung in the spring of 2013 to apply her managerial experience in global and intercultural work to an organization that is engaged in building a better society within and beyond the field of health care and that emphasizes values such as ecology, solidarity and gender democracy. Her key interests include the promotion of democratic decision-making and socio-political involvement via national and international educational projects.

Dr. Livia Cotta

Dr. Livia Cotta

Geschäftsführung der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung
Kontakt: 

Referentin der Geschäftsführung
Eva-Maria Betz
E: betz@boell.de
T: + 49(0) 30 /  285 34 115
F: + 49(0) 30 /  285 34 5115

 

Biografie: 

Dr. Livia Cotta, MBA, ist 1970 in Berlin geboren und studierte von 1989 bis 1996 Humanmedizin an der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie promovierte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und war bis zu ihrer Approbation 1998 in der Medizinischen Klinik der Charité als Ärztin tätig. Den Master of Business Administration erwarb sie berufsbegleitend 2008 an der Technischen Universität München.

Von 1998 bis 2007 arbeitete Livia Cotta in verschiedenen Positionen in Redaktion und Veranstaltungsmanagement beim Georg Thieme Verlag – einem Verlag für medizinische Fachinformation in Stuttgart. Unter anderem gründete sie dort als Chefredakteurin eine Fachzeitschrift für Physiotherapeuten samt Internetauftritt und Kongress und betreute den Relaunch einer Fachzeitschrift für Anästhesisten. Anschließend war sie zwei Jahre lang Abteilungsleiterin Marketing und Kommunikation bei der Hocoma AG, einem Schweizer Medizintechnikunternehmen in der Nähe von Zürich.

Expertise im Management einer international tätigen Non-Profit-Organisation erwarb sie während ihrer Zeit bei der Deutschen Knochenmarkspenderdatei gGmbH. Dort war sie seit 2009 Medizinische Direktorin und verantwortete auch die Abteilungen Personal, Verwaltung und IT.

Im Rahmen ihrer journalistischen Tätigkeiten publizierte sie unter anderem zu dem Thema „Medizin in Krisengebieten“ und erhielt für den Beitrag „Neurologische Reha – Training für die grauen Zellen“ den „Karl Theodor Vogel Preis für Fachpublizistik 2003“. Die Fachzeitschrift physiopraxis wurde 2005 unter ihrer Leitung als „Fachzeitschrift des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet.

Zur Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung kam sie im Frühjahr 2013, um ihre Management-Erfahrung in einem globalen, interkulturellen Umfeld für eine Organisation einzusetzen, die sich über das Gesundheitswesen hinaus für eine lebenswerte Gesellschaft engagiert und dabei Werte wie Ökologie, Solidarität und Geschlechterdemokratie in den Fokus stellt. Die Förderung der demokratischen Willensbildung und des gesellschaftspolitischen Engagements durch Bildungsprojekte im In- und Ausland sind ihr ein großes Anliegen. 

Alle Beiträge: