International Policy

Cover Pastoralismus und Großprojekte für erneuerbare Energien und grünen Wasserstoff

Pastoralism and large-scale REnewable energy and green hydrogen projects

Published: 18 May 2022
Report

Large-scale renewable energy projects are being developed in the drylands of Africa, Asia and Latina America without adequate consultation with pastoralists that have been using the land for grazing their livestock since time memorial. This joint report by the Heinrich Böll Foundation and Bread for the World examines evidence from existing large-scale projects and derives recommendations.

Cover The Beijing-led Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank

The Beijing-led Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank

Published: 22 October 2021
Study

The business of the AIIB is the financing of large infrastructure projects such as power plants, dams and transport routes. Such investments are inherently associated with high environmental and social risks, as well as corruption and high levels of debt. This study provides an overview of the institution's close alignment with China and its transparency and information disclosure rules.

Download

Please select a file format.

PDF (EN) e-pub mobi PDF (french)
Debt Relief by Private Creditors: Lessons from the Brady Plan

Debt Relief for Green and Inclusive Recovery Project

Published: 1 October 2021

This paper reviews the main features of and experiences with the Brady Plan, which in 1989 laid the foundation for the restructuring of the sovereign debt of mainly Latin American countries. It argues that the combination of credit enhancement for restructured debt, moral suasion, and tax as well as regulatory relief to encourage private creditors to participate in debt restructurings may provide a template for addressing today's sovereign debt problems.

Cover: Debt Relief for a Green and Inclusive Recovery

Debt Relief for a Green and Inclusive Recovery

Published: 28 June 2021
Report

The Debt Relief for Green and Inclusive Recovery initiative of the Heinrich Böll Foundation, the Centre for Sustainable Finance at SOAS University London and the Boston University Global Development Policy Center presents its current refined proposal for concerted and comprehensive debt relief at the global level to promote a just transition to a low-carbon economy.

Download

Please select a file format.

pdf epub mobi
Cover LSF Studie

The Liquidity and Sustainability Facility for African Sovereign Bonds

Published: 10 March 2021

Over the past few decades, market-based finance has become central to the global financial system. Huge volumes of financial instruments are traded on a daily basis. In an effort to improve access to global financial markets for African countries, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) – in cooperation with the asset management firm PIMCO – has proposed setting up a Liquidity and Sustainability Facility (LSF). This is designed to create a Special Purpose Vehicle to subsidise private sector investment in African sovereign debt. The LSF would be financed by official development assistance (ODA), multilateral development banks and/or by the central banks of members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Cover Political Economy of Climate and Clean Energy in China

Political Economy of Climate and Clean Energy in China

Published: 12 January 2021
Publication

China’s emissions pathway during the coming decades is probably the single biggest factor in determining the achievability of the climate targets agreed in Paris. This fact is due to the still growing size of the Chinese economy and its carbon intensity, based on its reliance on coal to fuel the power system. This paper contributes towards fostering a deeper understanding of the challenges and the potential of Chinese-European interaction in the transition to a zero-carbon economy

Cover EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment

EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment

Published: 9 December 2020
Study

China and the EU are currently negotiating a new, far-reaching investment treaty called the EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment (CAI). This scoping paper focuses on the potential risks for the EU from enshrining rights for Chinese investors in Europe in an international investment treaty.

Cover: Basic Income I Livelihood

Basic Income | Livelihood

Published: 24 November 2020

The work shows that in the discourse on transformation and sustainability in the fight against the constantly advancing climate change, a systematic integration of the issues of social inequality and the global creation of decent livelihoods are absolutely necessary.

Internationale Politik

Cover Pastoralismus und Großprojekte für erneuerbare Energien und grünen Wasserstoff

Pastoralismus und Großprojekte für erneuerbare Energien und grünen Wasserstoff

Published: 18. Mai 2022
Report

In den Trockengebieten Afrikas, Asiens und Lateinamerikas werden groß angelegte Projekte für erneuerbare Energien entwickelt, ohne dass die Hirtenvölker, die das Land seit jeher zum Weiden ihres Viehs nutzen, angemessen konsultiert werden. In diesem gemeinsamen Bericht der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung und Brot für die Welt werden Erfahrungen aus bestehenden Großprojekten untersucht und Empfehlungen abgeleitet.

Cover "Die von Peking geführte Asiatische Infrastruktur-Investitionsbank (AIIB)"

Die von Peking geführte Asiatische Infrastruktur-Investitionsbank (AIIB)

Published: 15. Dezember 2021
Studie

Das Geschäft der AIIB ist die Finanzierung großer Infrastrukturprojekte wie Kraftwerke, Staudämme und Verkehrswege. Solche Investitionen sind naturgemäß mit hohen ökologischen und sozialen Risiken verbunden wie auch mit Korruption und hoher Verschuldung. Diese Studie gibt einen Überblick über die enge Ausrichtung der Institution an China und ihre Regelungen zu Transparenz und Offenlegung von Informationen.

Herunterladen

Bitte wählen Sie ein Datei-Format.

pdf PDF (frz) epub (frz) mobi (frz)
Cover: Wie wollen wir leben? Wege aus dem Wachstumswahn

Wie wollen wir leben?

Published: 15. Oktober 2021
Buch

Seit Jahrzehnten richten wir unser Leben an der Überzeugung aus, dass „besser“ auch immer „mehr“ heißen muss. Doch das Streben nach ständigem Wachstum hat zu ökologischer Zerstörung, sozialer Instabilität und einer globalen Gesundheitskrise geführt. Wenn Wachstum uns so sehr schadet, warum verabschieden wir uns dann nicht davon? 

Debt Relief by Private Creditors: Lessons from the Brady Plan

Debt Relief for Green and Inclusive Recovery Project

Published: 1. Oktober 2021
Report

Dieses Papier gibt einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Merkmale und Erfahrungen mit dem Brady-Plan, der 1989 den Grundstein für die Umstrukturierung der Staatsschulden hauptsächlich lateinamerikanischer Länder legte. Es wird argumentiert, dass die Kombination aus Bonitätsverbesserung für umstrukturierte Schulden, moralischer Überzeugung und steuerlichen sowie regulatorischen Erleichterungen, um private Gläubiger zur Beteiligung an Umschuldungen zu ermutigen, eine Vorlage für die Bewältigung der heutigen Staatsschuldenprobleme sein kann.

Herunterladen

Bitte wählen Sie ein Datei-Format.

pdf epub mobi
Cover: Debt Relief for a Green and Inclusive Recovery

Debt Relief for a Green and Inclusive Recovery

Published: 28. Juni 2021
Report

Die Initiative „Debt Relief for Green and Inclusive Recovery“ der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, des Centre for Sustainable Finance an der SOAS University London und des Boston University Global Development Policy Center stellt ihren aktuell weiterentwickelten Vorschlag für einen konzertierten und umfassenden Schuldenerlass auf globaler Ebene vor, um einen gerechten Übergang zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Wirtschaft zu fördern.

Cover LSF Studie

The Liquidity and Sustainability Facility for African Sovereign Bonds

Published: 10. März 2021

In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist die marktbasierte Finanzierung zu einem zentralen Bestandteil des globalen Finanzsystems geworden. Täglich werden riesige Mengen an Finanzinstrumenten gehandelt. In dem Bemühen, den Zugang zu den globalen Finanzmärkten für afrikanische Länder zu verbessern, hat die Wirtschaftskommission der Vereinten Nationen für Afrika (ECA) - in Zusammenarbeit mit der Vermögensverwaltungsfirma PIMCO - die Einrichtung einer Liquiditäts- und Nachhaltigkeitsfazilität (LSF) vorgeschlagen.

Cover Political Economy of Climate and Clean Energy in China

Political Economy of Climate and Clean Energy in China

Published: 13. Januar 2021
Studie

Ob die in Paris vereinbarten Klimaziele erreicht werden können, hängt maßgeblich davon ab, wie schnell China den Übergang zu einer kohlenstofffreien Wirtschaft schafft. Diese Studie zeigt Herausforderungen und das Potenzial für eine klimapolitisch produktive Interaktion der EU mit China auf.

Cover EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment

EU-China Comprehensive Agreement on Investment

Published: 9. Dezember 2020
Study

China und die EU verhandeln derzeit über einen neuen, weitreichenden Investitionsvertrag. Dieses E-Paper untersucht die potenziellen Risiken für die EU, die sich aus der Verankerung von Rechten für chinesische Investoren in Europa in einem internationalen Investitionsvertrag ergeben