European Democracy Conference

The next international conference will take place on July 2nd 2024 on the topic "The EU at a Crossroads: Perspectives on Europe’s Future after the Elections."

Every year since 2009, the European Democracy Conference has brought together European voices from academia, politics and the public to discuss a key European policy issue. Our goal is to put pressing European issues for the future on the agenda, to advance debates and to work together on innovative solutions.

 

 

Placeholder Image for Video Content

European Democracy Conference 2024

The EU at a Crossroads: Perspectives on Europe’s Future after the Elections

From June 6-9, 2024, the European Parliament will be re-elected. All forecasts predict a significant shift to the political right. The potential gains of right-wing nationalist forces and the upcoming Hungarian EU Presidency could present the EU with a new acid test when it comes to the future of European integration. And all of this is happening in a political climate that poses major challenges for Europe.

Four weeks after the elections to the European Parliament, we therefore want to analyze the election results with European experts, media professionals, academics and actors from an active and courageous civil society. We want to scrutinize the causes and consequences of this trend and discuss how the new electoral majority structure will affect the European Parliament's ability to operate, the interaction between the European institutions and the future political direction of EU policy.

The European Democracy Conference 2024 therefore focuses on Europe’s future after the elections. ➤ Conference Programme 2024

» Expert Symposium | Tuesday, 2 July 2024, 9:00 - 16:00

» Public Panel Discussion | Tuesday, 2 July 2024, 18:00 - 20:00

Content on the European Union

The European Democracy Conference from 2016 - 2022

The European Democracy Conference has taken place annually since 2009. The conference is documented each year with the help of articles, podcasts and video recordings in an online dossier.

About the European Democracy Conference

A conference on Europe's future

The European Democracy Conference is an annual international conference on Europe held in Berlin. It offers a platform that brings together representatives from politics, academia and civil society from all over Europe to advance current debates on European policy and to discuss the future of the European Union in a constructive way. 

For European exchange

The European Democracy Conference aims to facilitate a European exchange, to make European voices heard in the Berlin conference landscape and to formulate European expectations of German European policy. The international conference creates a space for ideas, innovation and controversy and brings together more than 300 guests every year. This European exchange is organised by the Heinrich Böll Foundation in cooperation with various partners.

Topics of the European Democracy Conference

The European Democracy Conference has been bringing together green perspectives from Europe every year since 2009. Each year, the conference focuses on a pressing European policy issue.

These were the conference topics of the last years:

2022: The European Democracy Conference 2022 focused on the question of how we can specifically and decisively counteract the advancing deterioration of free reporting.   

2021: The European Democracy Conference 2021 asked how to make economic reconstruction in Europe socially just and ecologically sustainable and put a focus on the local dimension of the European Green Deal.  

2020: In the midst of the Covid 19 pandemic, Germany took over the EU Presidency for six months. The European Democracy Conference 2020 looked at the expectations of the EU and the German EU Presidency. 

2019: The European Democracy Conference 2019 was held under the theme "After the European elections: Where is the European Union heading?" and analysed the election results, causes for voting patterns in the individual EU countries and how the new majority structures will affect the future political direction of EU policy.

2018: In 2018, the Conferent posed the question of what a positive vision for the future of Europe could look like. The focus was on finding ideas for a progressive policy that wants to prevent the right-wing populists from gaining further ground.

2017: The European Democracy Conference "Sixty Years of the Treaties of Rome On with Europe! The Crisis of Liberal Democracy and the Future of the EU" explored the question of how Europe can defend its liberal values, achieve a new basic consensus, revive the spirit of cooperation and solidarity and strengthen its capacity to act.

2016: In 2016, the "refugee crisis" was the focus of the European Democracy Conference. Under the conference title "Border Experience: Asylum and Refugee Policy in Europe", national perspectives were presented and discussed on what a common European asylum and border protection policy could look like.

European Democracy Conference

Die nächste internationale Konferenz findet am 10. und 11. Oktober 2022 zum Thema "Presse und Medienfreiheit in Europa" statt

Die European Democracy Conference bringt seit 2009 jedes Jahr europäische Stimmen aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Öffentlichkeit miteinander ins Gespräch, um ein zentrales europapolitisches Thema zu diskutieren. Unser Ziel ist es drängende europäische Zukunftsthemen auf die Tagesordnung zu setzen, Debatten voranzubringen und gemeinsam an innovativen Lösungsansätzen zu arbeiten. 

 

 

European Democracy Conference 2022

Presse- und Medienfreiheit unter Druck

Der russische Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine stellt eine in seinen Ausmaßen noch unabsehbare Zäsur in der Nachkriegsgeschichte Europas dar. Der Krieg zwischen Demokratie und Autoritarismus wird auch medial geführt. Dabei bildet eine freie, unabhängige Presse und eine vitale, vielfältige Medienlandschaft das Rückgrat einer liberalen Demokratie. Doch gerade in Europa und in der EU geraten diese Grundpfeiler demokratischer Ordnung zusehends unter Druck. 

Die European Democracy Conference 2022 nimmt deshalb die Frage in den Fokus, wie wir dem voranschreitenden Verfall freier Berichterstattung gezielt und entschieden entgegenwirken können.

Die European Democracy Conference  von 2016 - 2021

Die European Democracy Conference findet seit 2009 jährlich statt. Die Konferenz wird jedes Jahr mit Hilfe von Artikeln, Podcasts und Video-Mitschnitten in einem Online-Dossier dokumentiert.

Über die European Democracy Conference

Eine Konferenz zu Europas Zukunft

Die European Democracy Conference ist eine jährlich in Berlin stattfindende internationale Europakonferenz. Sie bietet eine Plattform, die Vertreter*innen aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft aus ganz Europa miteinander ins Gespräch bringt, um aktuelle europapolitische Debatten voranzutreiben und konstruktiv über die Zukunft der Europäischen Union zu diskutieren. 

Für europäischen Austausch

Die European Democracy Conference will einen europäischen Austausch ermöglichen, europäische Stimmen in der Berliner Konferenzlandschaft hörbar machen und europäische Erwartungen an die deutsche Europapolitik formulieren. Die internationale Tagung schafft dabei einen Raum für Ideen, Innovation und Kontroverse und führt in jedem Jahr mehr als 300 Gäst*innen zusammen. Veranstaltet wird dieser europäische Austausch von der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Partner*innen.

Themen der European Democracy Conference

Die European Democracy Conference bringt seit 2009 jährlich grüne Perspektiven aus Europa zusammen. Jährlich steht eine drängende europapolitische Frage im Mittelpunkt der Konferenz.

Das waren die Konferenz-Themen der letzten Jahre:

2021: Die European Democracy Conference 2021 stellte die Frage, wie der wirtschaftliche Wiederaufbau in Europa sozial gerecht und ökologisch nachhaltig gestaltet werden kann und legte einen Fokus auf die lokale Dimension des European Green Deal.  

2020: Mitten in der Covid-19-Pandemie übernahm Deutschland am für ein halbes Jahr den EU-Ratsvorsitz. Die European Democracy Conference 2020 setzte sich mit den Erwartungen an die EU und die deutsche EU- Ratspräsidentschaft auseinander. 

2019: Die European Democracy Conference 2019 lief unter dem Thema „Nach der Europawahl: Wohin steuert die Europäische Union?“ und analysierte die Wahlergebnisse, Ursachen für die Abstimmungsverhalten in den einzelnen EU-Ländern und, wie sich die neuen Mehrheitsverhältnisse auf die zukünftige politische Ausrichtung der EU-Politik auswirken werden.

2018: Im Jahr 2018 stellte die Konferent die Frage, wie eine positive Zukunftsvision für Europa aussehen kann. Im Fokus stand die Ideenfindung für eine progressive Politik, die verhindern will, dass die Rechtspopulisten weiter an Boden gewinnen.

2017: Die European Democracy Conference "Sechzig Jahre Römische Verträge Weiter mit Europa! Die Krise der liberalen Demokratie und die Zukunft der EU" ging der Frage nach, wie Europa seine freiheitlichen Werte verteidigen, einen neuen Grundkonsens erzielen, den Geist von Kooperation und Solidarität neu beleben und seine Handlungsfähigkeit stärken kann.

2016: Im Jahr 2016 stand die „Flüchtlingskrise“ im Mittelpunkt der European Democracy Conference. Unter dem Konferenz-Titel „Grenzerfahrung: Asyl- und Flüchtlingspolitik in Europa“ wurden nationale Perspektiven aufgezeigt und diskutiert, wie eine gemeinsame europäische Asyl- und Grenzschutzpolitik aussehen könnte.