The Anne Klein Women’s Award

In honour of Anne Klein the Heinrich Böll Foundation has created the Anne Klein Women’s Award. Anne Klein, a dedicated lawyer and openly lesbian politician, has been a pioneer of feminist causes. She served as the first feminist Women’s Senator in Berlin’s state government.

The prize is annually awarded to women who have shown exemplary commitment for making gender democracy a reality. The award is endowed with 10.000 €.

The Anne Klein Women's Award was made possible by a generous donation from Anne Klein. Many thanks for this!

Anne Klein Women’s Award 2021

The award winners 2012 - 2020

Anne Klein Women's Award 2017 to Nomarussia Bonase

Anne Klein Women's Award 2016 to Gisela Burckhardt

Anne Klein Women's Award 2015 to Nebahat Akkoc

Anne Klein Women's Award 2014 to Imelda Marrufo Nava

Lepa Mlađenović - winner of the Anne Klein Women's Award 2013

Nivedita Prasad - Winner of the Anne Klein Women's Award 2012

Nomination and Award Criteria


Barbara Unmüßig, co-president of the Heinrich Böll Foundation, chair of the jury
Renate Künast, member of the German parliament, Alliance 90/The Greens
Prof. Dr. Michaele Schreyer, vice president of the European Movement Germany
Jutta Wagner, lawyer, former president of the German Chamber of Attorneys
Thomas Herrendorf, interior decorator (deceased 12/2020)

Anne Klein (1950 - 2011)

Support the Women's Award


If you share the cause of the Anne Klein Women's Award, we would be delighted to receive further donations:

Subject „Anne Klein“
Bank für Sozialwirtschaft
IBAN: DE11100205000003076702

Ulrike Cichon
Schumannstraße 8
10117 Berlin
T 030-28534-112
F 030-28534-5112